Category Archives: Reading

I Love My Hat.

I love my hat. It’s the Everdeen Beanie by Tanis Gray from the book Weekend Hats, knit with Madelinetosh Tosh Merino DK in the Cove colourway. I love, love, love the way this yarn looks in this pattern. I knit … Continue reading

Posted in Finished Objects, Reading | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Geek + Craft = Love

Doesn’t this seem like the best thing in the history of ever? Knits for Nerds: 30 Projects for Fans of Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Comic Books by Joan of Dark, a.k.a. Toni Carr. (I already have her book Knockdown Knits: … Continue reading

Posted in Finished Objects, Reading, WIPs | Leave a comment

Are You There God? It’s Me, Sock.

The sock had a fabulous time at ALA 2009 in Chicago. As I mentioned before, my boyfriend brought my sock-in-progress with him and asked various people to hold the sock for photos. Because I am insane, and he is indulgent … Continue reading

Posted in Cool Stuff, Reading, WIPs | 11 Comments

Apparently We Are Amish

Today is rainy, gloomy, and horrible. I actually like rainy, gloomy, and horrible weather, but today it’s a hindrance, because my boyfriend and I were planning to go to the fair today, but “rain at times heavy with the risk … Continue reading

Posted in Cool Stuff, Culture(?), Frustrations, Reading, WIPs | 3 Comments

Meet the Itty Bitty Kitty Committee!

My mother recently adopted two kittens! There is a black one and a white one, and the word on the street is that they are both very rambunctious (I believe the word “evil” may have been used). Which is to … Continue reading

Posted in Finished Objects, Kitties, Reading, WIPs | 3 Comments

Things I Learned During the Tour de Fleece

Remember when I said it wasn’t going to be possible for me to spin all two ounces of that first bit of fibre during the Tour? Well, I didn’t do it, but I almost did, and if I had gotten … Continue reading

Posted in Reading, Spinning | 1 Comment

Why I Must Learn How to Crochet

Last weekend, I bought a book called Creepy Cute Crochet. Zombies! Ninjas! Trojans and Spartans! These are the most adorable little creatures ever, and clearly I must learn how to crochet someday so I can make some of them. I’m … Continue reading

Posted in Finished Objects, Reading, WIPs | 5 Comments

The Really Crafty Girls Knit Their Own Stomach Linings

I am not the one who originally said that this pink strip of knitting looks like a stomach lining, and I didn’t pay quite enough attention in biology class to know whether it really does or not (Tip: If you’re … Continue reading

Posted in Cool Stuff, Reading, WIPs, Yarn Blather | 1 Comment

Achilles’ Heel Flap

I thought that I’d start having some free time again in September, but, oh, how all occasions do inform against me. A staff member at one of my jobs quit rather suddenly, so between my two jobs, I am working … Continue reading

Posted in Cool Stuff, Reading, WIPs | 2 Comments

A Creepy Subculture

All right, time for my more detailed post of Harlotry. I eventually found a drive back to New Brunswick from Halifax. I emailed Deb, who was able to take me as far as Truro but suggested emailing Jennifer, who wasn’t … Continue reading

Posted in Cool Stuff, Culture(?), Reading, WIPs | 6 Comments