Geek + Craft = Love

Doesn’t this seem like the best thing in the history of ever? Knits for Nerds: 30 Projects for Fans of Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Comic Books by Joan of Dark, a.k.a. Toni Carr. (I already have her book Knockdown Knits: 30 Projects from the Roller Derby Track, and the fact that there is an entire chapter devoted to projects for injured derby girls, such as a knitted arm sling, made me decide never to try roller derby. And I played on the rugby team in high school…I didn’t play very well, but still.)

The Big Bang Theory-inspired his-and-hers sweater vests! Lieutenant Uhura’s red minidress! Firefly-inspired scarf, socks, hat, and jacket to go with the Jayne Cobb hat that of course you already have somewhere! In the interest of full disclosure, I have not made a Jayne hat yet, but I’ve had a Jayne hat kit in my closet for ages and ages (I think it’s this one), so you know I’ll get around to it. Eventually.

If you don’t understand how much I need a geeky knitting book…well, this is my shower curtain.

periodic table shower curtain

Clearly, I need geeky everything.

periodic table shower curtain closeup

How can I possibly wait until next year for this book? That’s so far away! So of course I bought a copy of World of Geekcraft: Step-by-Step Instructions for 25 Super-Cool Craft Projects, edited by Susan Beal of Geek Crafts, to tide me over until then.

Geek Craft

It truly contains projects to appeal to every geek. My friend Jeannie, a beader and D&D player, would be all over the d20 Deluxe necklace and earrings set made from sparkly many-sided dice. I can totally picture my Buffy-loving, cross stitching friend Yolande translating the Buffy Fuse Bead Portrait pattern from a Perler bead project to a stitching one. I love retro games, Magritte, and John Lohman’s site Sprite Stitch, so I think my favourite project is his Mario Magritte cross stitch pattern (I also own this shirt). Truly, though, I love everything. Star Wars terrariums! Crocheted tribbles! A knitted coffee sleeve with Trivial Pursuit-inspired embroidery!

Okay, that’s enough geeking out for now. Recently I knit baby legwarmers for a friend’s baby, with Bernat Baby Jacquards in Petunia. Although the pink and green parts in the repeats may look like flowers when you knit something wider, like a sweater or a blanket, in tiny skinny little legwarmers, they’re more like modern art-y pink and green diagonal lines. And not in a good way. But the striping is pretty, and although they’re a bit too big for Miranda right now, the size is for 3 to 6 months, and as she’s not three months old yet, she’ll grow into them.

baby legwarmer

I am now working on a pair in the 12-month size for Izzy. In the larger size, the “flowers” are upgraded from “pink and green diagonal lines” to “large pink and green blobs that might look sort of like flowers if your eyesight is not very good.” I’ve finished the first one, and although it’s only about an inch longer than the 3-6-month size (which is obvious from reading the pattern), it’s a lot bigger around (which should have been obvious to me from reading the pattern, since the biggest part is twelve stitches wider in DK weight yarn). The legwarmers may only fit Izzy if she wears them over her pants, which I think is perfectly fine, because I’m a child of the ’80s and I used to do that myself, as if it were normal and not insane. I am slightly worried, however, that they might only fit her if worn over ski pants, and that is just not okay, no matter what decade it is.

This entry was posted in Finished Objects, Reading, WIPs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *